- (508) 624-4362
- 24-hour service
BLOG OF SIMON
Like in any American state, in Massachusetts the rule is simple: No person can drive a vehicle over a reasonable and adequate speed, considering the traffic ahead and the safety of others.
Punishment for exceeding the speed limit:
A transgressor, flagged for the first time, can receive a fine of at least US$50. If he or she goes over the speed limit in 10 MPH or more, an additional fine of US$10 per mile over the limit of the place where the infraction happened will be applied.
Punishment for reckless driving
It can be applied on the very first time it happens:
- Fine from US$20 to US$200; imprisonment from two weeks to two years; suspended license for at least 60 days.
At most American highways the speed limit is US$65. In Massachusetts this is the limit in any highway in all its extension up to the border with other American states.